My Name Is Najmah.

My name is Najmah.  On my Shahada, choosing a Muslim name became less difficult for me against when I was simply browsing through websites of Islamic names.  Friends who were with me suggested nice names too.  But to some of those suggested I really felt so ambitious to even sport them.  And to some of the other names, like Kadeeja or Aisha being the first and the favorite wives respectively, of the Prophet Mohammad (Peace Be Upon Him),  I felt I couldn’t relate to them as I have been nobody’s wife for the longest time.

So they said that I should choose a name that would be most comfortable for me.  So I asked what was the Arabic for “star”.  Hence, NAJMAH.  As to why I chose the Arabic for star for my name is pretty effortless for me.  My blog title “LIGHT IN THE DARK” spells it out for me.  I want to shine amidst the darkness not exactly to be followed (but of course Inshaallaah) but to lead those who are still astray back home to the true Faith.

From my family who are devotees to the Catholic Church, I stand to be the first Muslim, Subhanallaah.  And the next ones, of which when revealed to me made me extremely emotional, are my daughters.  Inshallaah, I aim to take them with me on my journey to 7th heaven.  It’s never easy.  At least not with what I had to go through to prepare for this for the first half of my life.  But I do not regret my experiences since now I understand, as Allah SWT has provided for me to understand Subhanallaah, that it all just made me stronger and even more courageous to seek my way back home.

Coming across this Ayat in the Qur’an, let me share with you what Allah SWT has enlightened me with:

“About the Stars.  Abu Qatadah mentioned Allaah’s statement: ‘And We have adorned the nearest heaven with lamps. (V. 67:5) and said, ‘The creations of these stars is for three purposes, i.e. as decoration of the (nearest) heaven, as missiles to hit the devils, and signs to guide travelers.  So if anybody tries to find a different interpretation, he is mistaken and just wastes his efforts, and troubles himself with what is beyond his limited knowledge. (Sahih Al-Bukhari, Vol. 4. Chap. 3, P.282)” [Footnote to (V.6:97)].

Thus is another quest.

My name is Najmah.  And this is my purpose:  To be worthy to serve Allaah by shining forth so that more people will see especially those who know me and love me, that Allaah SWT is indeed Oft-Forgiving and Most Merciful.  Because He is The One.

Bismillah Ar Rahman Ar Rahim. Say O Mohammad SAWS: ‘He is Allah, The One and Only; Allah, the Eternal, Absolute; He begetteth not nor is He begotten; And there is none like unto him [112:1-4]. ”  

Leave a Reply

